One of my favourite summer activities is cycling with friends – especially through the New Forest! So, when I saw that there was a local Sky Ride organised for last Sunday, I jumped on the chance to sign up immediately! Sky Rides are an amazing initiative from Sky and British Cycling – local tours supported by ride leaders who lead the group on organised routes through gorgeous cycle paths and roads. Check out the site here.

I hadn’t been riding for over a year, but it was easy to get back in the saddle again, once the bike had had a quick service (thanks to my friend Omar!). The route was just over 14 miles, which was a fairly comfortable two hour ride, and also included a stop at a local pub for a quick drink!

I’d missed wearing my Sawako Furuno helmet – this style isn’t available any more, but you can see the range of gorgeous and stylish helmets from the company on their site here. Sporty aerodynamic helmets aren’t really my style – and let’s be honest, on my hybrid I’m not exactly going for speed anyway!

After our ride, we were all pretty enthusiastic about saddling back up again sometime soon, so hopefully I’ll be able to update with some more cycling news during the summer!

Do you like cycling? What kind of bike do you have, and where do you like to ride it? Let me know in the comments below!